2024 Slave Lake Business Excellence Awards

Pearl Lorentzen
Lakeside Leader

Businesses from Canadian Tire to a local campground won awards at the Slave Lake and District Chamber of Commerce 2024 Business Excellence Awards on March 9.

The event had 11 categories. Joyce Robinson won the Lifetime Achievement Award, see photo in the March 13 Leader. The rest are here.

“I think it went really well!” says Jen Simpson, Chamber executive director.

The event was moved to the Slave Lake Inn and Conference Centre, because so many people wanted to attend. It included dinner, an award ceremony, live and silent auctions, and a dance with a live band.

The theme was the Kentucky Derby, hence the ‘fascinators’ (jaunty hats with lots of feathers) and other hats.

“We had 225 people there and the feedback has been amazing,” adds Simpson. “The band was great, the food was incredible and everyone had a really fun evening.

“We stayed late dancing into the evening and celebrating the nominees and winners.”

Brenna Emes (left), from Creative Goods and Co., accepts the Slave Lake Small Business Award from Tyler Warman, owner of award sponsor Boston Pizza Slave Lake.
Lokesh Mahajan (left), Canadian Tire Slave Lake owner, accepts the Slave Lake Large Business Award, from MC Erin Allarie, representing award sponsor RBC Slave Lake.
Laura Rushton (centre) accepts the Slave Lake Entrepreneur Under 40 Business Award for Taylor Courtemanche with Lynk Bar. Robin-Lee Vance (left) and Fatima Galvez (right) present the award for sponsor Community Futures Lesser Slave Lake.
Left to right, Janice Nowochin and Michelle O’Neill, owners of BWorthy Bra Boutique, accept the Slave Lake New Business Award, Joyce Robinson, owner of award sponsor The Business Factory.
For the first time in the history of the Slave Lake business awards, there was a tie for the Slave Lake People’s Choice Award. Jared Franklin (centre) and Joy McGregor (who couldn’t make it) won the award. Brett Smyl (left), Lakeside Ford owner presents the award. Slave Lake and District Chamber of Commerce President Brenna Emes accepts the award on McGregor’s behalf. Lakeside Ford and Danny’s Picker Service sponsored the award.
Left to right, Anne-Marie Parsons and Ryan Gaillard, from Sobeys, accept the Slave Lake Customer Service Excellence Award, from Frankie Ward, partner at award sponsor Nash Giroux LLP.
Gary Clark, owner of Peace of Mind Services, accepts the Slave Lake Home-Based Business Award, from MC Erin Allarie, for sponsor Mathieu Hryniuk LLP Slave Lake.
Left to right, Jasmine Anderson and Edie Klassen accept the Slave Lake Innovative Business Award for Big Fish Bay RV Resort from Mukesh Singh and Srini Jayaraman, from the award sponsor Sawridge Travel Centre.
Dennise MacIntyre (left), Animal Rescue Committee of Slave Lake president, accepts the Spirit of Slave Lake Award, from MC Erin Allarie, for the award sponsor Royal LePage.
Justin Van Oorspronk, Prax Enterprises, accepts Slave Lake’s Best in Oil Award, from MC Erin Allarie, for sponsor Town of Slave Lake.

Share this post

Post Comment