Four new(ish) faces on M.D. council

Joe McWilliams

Lakeside Leader

M.D. of Lesser Slave River reeve Murray Kerik will have familiar faces around the council table this term, as well as some new ones.

But even the new councillors are somewhat familiar. They include Div. I councillor Darren Fulmore from Smith, who served previously on council, former Aspen View school trustee Nancy Sand and former recording secretary for council Lana Spencer.

Leading the vote-getting in Div. I (Smith, Flatbush, etc.) was Sand, with 267 votes. Incumbent Sandra Melzer was second with 227 votes, and Fulmore third with 178. He won his seat by a mere eight votes over incumbent councillor Becky Peiffer. Finishing a distant fifth in the Div. race was Ryan Cooper of Flatbush, who received 80 votes.

In Div. II, Canyon Creeker Bradley Pearson was re-elected to a third term. He also got the most votes of the seven people running for the three seats in the M.D.’s west end – 296. Joining him around the council table will be Spencer (285) and Norm Seatter (272). 

In order of votes, the unsuccessful Div. II candidates were Pamela Porter (193), Craig Pearson and Darcie Acton (168 apiece) and Charlotte Measor (59).

Murray Kerik

Share this post

Post Comment