Lots of winners at season-ending golf tournament

Leader staff

Forty-eight golfers turned out for the annual Club Championship at Gilwood on Sept. 22 and 23, sponsored by the Landon Persson Memorial Fund. As reported earlier, it was a touch on the chilly side, but most dressed accordingly.

Finishing first in the senior ladies’ category was Barb Sparks. The senior men’s champ is George Dashkewytch.

Women’s club champion is Connie Schultz (for the 27th time), and Chad Caron is the men’s club champ.

According to Gilwood manager Tom Tippin, Caron shot a final-round two-under 70 and tied the record low score of 143, held by Roger Cheechoo.

There was another set of winners in the tournament, when handicaps were taken into consideration. Senior women’s net winner was Shirley Hunt; senior men’s net champ was Robert Bottle. Women’s net champ was Joyce Robinson and men’s net champ was Lance Lee.

A third set of winners were the ‘flight’ champions, as follows: senior men ‘A’ flight – Dave Dombrosky; women’s ‘A’ flight – Pam Morrison; men’s ‘B’ flight – Kelly Pearson; men’s ‘A’ flight – Brent Blachford.

The General Manager’s Spirit Award went to Rick Sparks and Janet Bottle.

Speaking of the general manager, the Tom Tippin era ends this season. He says for now the course remains open and in “excellent condition,” with “phenomenal greens!”

Chad Caron is the men’s club champion. Presenting is Gilwood GM Tom Tippin.

Women’s club champion is Connie Schultz; Gilwood GM Tom Tippin makes the presentation.

Senior men’s champ is George Dashkewytch.

The Senior Ladies’ champion was Barb Sparks.

Share this post

Post Comment