Order of the Bighorn returns, Slave Laker won in 1987

Leader staff

In 1987, Reinhold Eben-Ebenau ‘Northshore Eben’ won the Order of the Bighorn. Also, the Athabasca Fish and Game Association won it in 1983.

In 2021, the provincial government reintroduced the Order of the Bighorn to celebrate Environment and Park’s 50th anniversary.

Jason Nixon, Minister of Environment and Parks say, “I am excited to re-introduce the Order of the Bighorn award and acknowledge the volunteers making a difference in conservation across our province. Albertans who have received the Order of the Bighorn award are great examples of civil society’s efforts in environmental stewardship.”

The Order was established in 1982, with the last ones awarded in 2015, says the news release. In total, 114 individuals or organizations have received an award. Applications are open July 8 to September 7. Applications can be emailed to [email protected] or mailed in.

Quick facts

The adjudication panel consists of eight Alberta Environment and Parks employees from various sectors.

Winners receive a bighorn sheep bronzed bust as well as an awards certificate.

The Order of the Bighorn event will be held at the beginning of November.

Nominated Albertans will be evaluated by a judging panel based on a demonstration of merit according to award themes, including:

  • Engaging youth in conservation initiatives.
  • Enhancing local, regional or provincial fish or wildlife populations through direct actions.
  • Focusing on community engagement and inspiring others to act.
  • Increasing public education and awareness about conservation and the environment.
  • Promoting habitat conservation or land stewardship ethics.
  • Demonstrating conservation by youth (under 18 years of age).
Reinhold Eben-Ebenau ‘Northshore Eben’ in 1958. He won the Order of the Bighorn in 1987.

Share this post

Post Comment