Queen Elizabeth II Platinum Jubilee Medal awarded in SL

Leader staff

Twenty-four Albertans received Queen Elizabeth II Platinum Jubilee medals in Slave Lake on Jan. 7. All are connected with municipal fire services, one way or another. Among them was Lesser Slave Regional Fire Service Chief Alex Pavcek.

Following is part of the introductory remarks by Lesser Slave Regional Fire Services Deputy Chief John McDermott, who was also representing the Alberta Fire Chiefs Association (AFCA):

“Her late Majesty expressed her wish that Jubilee events be an occasion for enjoying a sense of togetherness and optimism about the future which makes today the perfect opportunity to celebrate the achievements of people who make our community better. It also serves as a tribute to the example set by Her late Majesty throughout her extraordinary lifetime.

“Today’s medal recipients lead rather than wait to be led. They tackle challenges head-on. They see problems as opportunities instead of obstacles.”

The ceremony was held at the Legacy Centre in Slave Lake, hosted by the LSRFS on behalf of the AFCA. The 24 recipients were mostly members of the AFCA and the Canadian Volunteer Firefighters Association, and represented municipal fire departments from all over the northern half of the province. Among these were Trevor Cisaroski of the High Prairie Fire Department, Luci Martinson of Big Lakes County Fire Services, Michael Frayne of the Peace River Fire Department and Brian Kroes of Central Peace Fire & Rescue.

McDermott is another recent recipient of the medal, having received his at a ceremony in Red Deer a few weeks earlier.

The commemorative medal was created by the Government of Alberta to mark the 70th anniversary of Her late Majesty Queen Elizabeth II’s accession to the throne as Queen of Canada. According to the program for the ceremony, “the medal is a tangible way to honour her late Majesty for her life of service to this province and country. At the same time, it serves to honour significant contributions and achievements by Albertans. During the Platinum Jubilee year (2022), 7,000 deserving Albertans were recognized throughout the province.

Fire chief Alex Pavcek, right, receives his medal from Peace River-Westlock Member of Parliament Arnold Viersen. Photo courtesy of Danny Peterson and the LSLRFS
Deputy Chief John McDermott receiving the Queen Elizabeth II Platinum Jubilee Medal from Red Deer-Mountain View MP Earl Dreeshen, on Dec. 6, 2022.
Photo courtesy Alberta Fire Chiefs Association
Medal recipients following the Jan. 7 ceremony at the Legacy Centre in Slave Lake.

Share this post

Post Comment