Voters return Viersen in Peace River-Westlock

Joe McWilliams

Lakeside Leader

Arnold Viersen, the Conservative Party of Canada incumbent, will be going back to Ottawa as Member of Parliament for Peace River-Westlock. The majority of voters said loud and clear on Sept. 20 that was their preference.

Viersen won comfortably, but received significantly less of the vote than he did in the 2019 election. It was over 80 per cent that time; in 2021 he’ll have to settle for around 63 per cent. The drop in popular vote can probably be attributed to the showing of People’s Party of Canada candidate Darryl Boisson, who ended up in second place, with just under 6,000 votes.

As for NDP candidate Gail Ungstad, she finished in third place with 5,800 votes. In terms of vote percentage, that’s a dead heat with Boisson at 13 per cent, according to CBC News.

Colin Krieger, the Maverick Party candidate, was fourth in the race, with 2,494 votes, marginally ahead of Liberal candidate Leslie Penny. CBC pegged both at five per cent of the popular vote.

Trailing the pack was late arrival to the scene Jordan MacDougall of the Green Party, who received just under 400 votes.

Viersen told Town and Country reporter Kevin Berger he’s happy he won, but frustrated the Conservatives won’t be forming government.

“We had an opportunity to get rid of Justin Trudeau as the Prime Minister. He called this vanity election because he wanted a majority, and Canadians have not given that to him. But yeah, we  were certainly hoping for a change in government.”

(Note: These numbers are unofficial and probably incomplete. They will be updated as new information becomes available.)

Share this post

Post Comment